Rattan means summer

For me rattan symbolizes summer. Its the material to use in warmer weather (not that Sweden always offers that….) but I love to include it in our summer house. It ads a beach feeling, a natural color and texture that goes well with all the white, linen and any colors for that matter.  Throughout the years I have collected and “won” different rattan furniture’s on auctions which will now find its proper spot in our coming summer house.

The material has been used for a long time and I recall it had a bloom in the 70s but the last 5 years its made a sweet comeback, at least in the Nordic countries. Today you can find them in different colors, black has been trendy for a while but I have always preferred the light natural color. In my opinion, it wins in the end.

0f1ca4d82268e1f15a46d8c978238c51
17fc0bf28d17c31f4234dd389a4ee5ab
I love having rattan furniture and details both inside as outdoors. In one corner of our coming back porch, I will have rattan lounge sofas filled with a ton of pillows and mix that with our concrete table. Inside I have a couple of lounge rattan chairs that I place here and there, along with a bunch of baskets as decor, flower pots and for storage.

537da3c5629d3252cf858c122a1f6a24

This chair above is a favorite of mine from Svenskt Tenn, but it is a bit pricey. Today there are many different brands and good rattan products for more reasonable prices. I personally love scouting the Swedish auction sites for the more vintage ones. That is where I have made most of my rattan findings.

If the chair I mentioned above was high end, as a Swede I of course want to show you some more affordable pieces from Ikea. Their spring rattan collection looks really nice. Love the cupboard/dresser.

Below is the classic Ikea “Agen” chair that has been around for ages. We have them around our outdoor eating area. I mix it with an old farmers table, a long green old church bench (u can spot parts of it below). In our coming summer house our eating area will be on one side of the porch (so covered) but one nice thing about the Agen chair is if you just leave it outside it ages into this nice vintage gray color and look.

ikea_finfika_inspiration_1.jpg

00246238_3

Above one of the sets I bought on an auction. I have another very similar set so I don´t need more, but I still peak online every now and then. I especially look extra around holidays since people tend to travel and are too busy keeping an eye on auctions. And, if I am lucky, less competition and prices tend to stay normal. (Maybe I should not have told you this…;) ,

e0794b55644a7a42740c862f55306028
Capture,,

fritidshus_vardagsrum

Using baskets as pendants is a fun idea. It gives a nice lighting and ads warmth and texture to a room. I have the exact ones as below but much smaller which I used in our small hallway in previous summer place (2nd below). I am not sure they will function as pendants in the new place, most likely just as baskets… but a cool idea regardless.

ead4955d21a4a2bcc189a61c3b223e17
image12

Capture
rat18
Before letting you go, I just wanted to ad this little final image – its the good old classic rattan bike basket which you see a lot during the summer in Sweden. Super cute. Great if going to the store for smaller things, to the bakery for the morning bread, to the beach with your towel or your coffee n sandwich for the picnic.
Oh, how I want it be summer now….

1e9d5136b29f6211d3709cfb129eb375
Have a wonderful rest of the weekend.

Hugs P

Images borrowed from Pinterest, Ikea, SvenktTenn…

One thought on “Rattan means summer

  1. I’m commenting to let you understand of the wonderful experience my wife’s princess gained reading through your webblog. She picked up lots of things, which included what it’s like to possess a great helping heart to make many more without hassle thoroughly grasp specified specialized matters. You truly surpassed readers’ expectations. Thank you for showing such essential, trustworthy, informative and in addition fun thoughts on the topic to Emily.

    Like

Leave a Reply

