Seattle dining room

I received some requests for pictures of our current dining room, so here it is.

Its a nice size room, with a big window that brings in a lot of natural light. I try to use our dining room as often as I can and remember. I dont want it to be a formal room for fancy dinners, I really want to see it being used by our kids doing there homework or us eating our regular week night dinners etc.

When we moved in to this house 5 years ago, I thought it would be fun to put up the gray Elephant wallpaper from Svenskt Tenn on one wall. Wanted to make it playful and less formal. I also thought it would be a contrast to all the white walls. Now, I am debating whether I should change it to something more neutral or keep it a little longer. Regardless, elephant or no elephant, its an eye catcher and people always comment on it since you see it as you walk in the front door.

P1110354

P1110327

Overall, I am trying to keep the dining area simple yet I like to ad something bold to make it interesting but most importantly inviting.

Some have asked about the table, which my dear husband made years ago. I wanted a large table that fit 4 wishbone chairs on each side and the ones I found where to expensive so my hubby made this. Still super happy about it. Recently the table got a make-over, I painted it in a darker gray which picks up the gray in the wallpaper. Below a picture from our old house that we built in Stockholm back in 2005 – where you can see the original table color. Love going back memory lane and looking at our old homes.

W-15 (002)

P1110337.JPG

The things I tend to focus on to make the dining room feel cozy and inviting is using  candles (I admit, I use a lot of candles, so many that several of my friends make fun of me and wonder if I belong to a special candle sect ;)). Another detail is having fresh flowers (which has become my wonderful Friday routine).  Fresh flowers is a must!

Oh – by the way, don´t pay attention to my sad plant in the corner (I realize I have not been paying attention to it for some time ;)). Sorry, I will get right to it!

file1-3

One thing I feel I am still working on is getting the art, the walls right. I realize the mix of art perhaps doesn’t go that well together. Once things have calmed/slowed down with our new summer house I might re invest in some new art in here.

file-12

These 2 sketches I found at the greatest antique market outside of Paris (Clignancourt). Recommend it you haven´t already been there.  Believe I bought the sketches for 10Euros each.  The painting below is from a Dutch artist (Corneille). My parents did not have space for them anymore so they handed me 3 of his work some 20 years ago. The other 2 are different in colors so I decided to hang these ladies & the bird separately.

corneilla.PNG

My classic Wishbone chairs by Hans J. Wegner  however, I love love. I have had them for years. They have gone over the Atlantic ocean in a container many times but after all these years, they still look good. The type of chairs that age beautifully. They are pretty pricey but I believe in saving saving and buying the quality pieces if you can. Its worth it.

P1110353

P1110342

Now to the final part, the lamp. Its actually my latest addition to the room. I have been looking for a ceiling lighting ever since we moved in (not very actively as you can hear :)). I wanted to find a fairly modern and slim lighting that would not take over the room (given the ceiling is very high). I was so glad when I finally came across this one from Lambert & Fils in Montreal.

P1110314

P1110349.JPG

Well my friends, that is my dining room. Wish you all a fantastic weekend!

Hugs/P

 

2 thoughts on “Seattle dining room

Leave a Reply

