Deciding on countertop

We are in the midst of finalizing our plans for our kitchen and I will admit it is super exciting but challenging at the same time.  After all, the kitchen is the center piece so I really want to get it right! One of my (many ;)) problems, is that I like a number of different kitchens and styles…

Promise to tell you all about my kitchen ideas but today I wanted to share thoughts on counter tops.  At the moment Silestone is my favorite but its pricey so I might need to mix it with another material. Here is what I have found,

  1. LAMINATE is probably the most affordable material. You can get it in all kinds of colors as well as marble look-alike for ex’ . Resistant against stains and super easy to maintain & clean. The one downside, it doesn’t feel like the real thing…but then again easy to upgrade one day.

ballingslövbankskiva-benkeplate-laminat-standard-6696-2_lr
Pic Ballingslöv

2. WOOD – a nice option that helps ad warmth to the kitchen. Its affordable but needs maintenance after some time, especially around the sink/water, where you will quickly notice stains. Being Scandinavian´n all – I prefer the lighter white-washed wood if I where to pick wood.

ae027027bf04228aa0199bb775c86493.jpg
kok_56d08dc89606ee4cb493bfb1Pic elle.dk

3. STAINLESS has been around for ever and never really goes out of style (its usually colors and wood that do…). Its durable, easy to maintain and well priced. I would perhaps mix the stainless top with another material to avoid it feel to sterile.

annaleenashemblogspot.jpg
Below a kitchen where they have mixed it …
mija-frida-köket-färdigt-840x512-3-170328

mija-frida-köket-färdigt-840x512-6-170328
Pic Vardagsglädje – above a close up where they mixed silestone + stainless.

4. CONCRETE – a material I really like and am convinced would ad a cool look and contrast to our other wise traditional summer house and style. I love the grey concrete color and since I am debating having it on the main floor I am not sure if its too much adding it as counter tops as well. Regardless, a strong candidate.

lkj
Kitchen-Concrete-Countertops-07-1-Kindesign

Capturexx

5. NATURAL STONES

MARBLE CARRARA – a classic and popular counter top. High quality, a little more expensive but still better priced than the quartz. However it cannot withstand stains as well and this time around I prefer a counter top where I dont need to worry as much. I know there are ways to treat it to make it more resistant, so its still on the list ;). I would then prefer a thin top to give it a more modern touch …

6fac6e5fca7233bf5679aeef82ab0fd8

coclapinedesign
whitelivingetc.PNG
NATURAL STONE – limestone, a beautiful material that I have had in the past and just love love but it does require work given its sensitive towards stains from wine and all kinds of citrus fruits. I remember being on my toes every day, worried as someone was preparing fresh orange juice, making the salads with all kinds of citrus fruits or as hubby was making the afternoon gin tonic. Conclusion, its over the top beautiful but probably just not the pick for our family right now… OR?

b51649fdf37b7116fc4eb9ed6fc5e64c

6ef5f8c9dcdf716b05256a76e5c6f0e1
a6842f900f059e3c8805efde0bee1d05
Capture.PNG

SILESTONE/QUARTZ – a strong contender but for sure very expensive. You can choose to make the top as thin as you like ( with concrete it’s harder, easier to break). It comes in various colors and styles. This is my top pick – but will there be money left for that :))

bistro-ask-vit-alt1

MEDB4362A50D5884C4B9B9CA3808C6CED9E

 

CORIAN/DEKTON – amazing products that can resist almost anything. They are both in the very very high price range, where DEKTON is the latest and even more expensive but with improved durance. Its not an option for us in this summer house but wanted to mention it to you … in case someone else is thinking about it.

bjurfors.jpg

So, to summarize – my first pick is Silestone  (in a very light color) and if it gets to pricey I might try to mix it with concrete, perhaps have concrete on the island ….but I promise to show you all/more details soon soon.

A side from that, if you are in the stage of building and deciding what counter top to choose – make sure you check prices with someone other than your assigned kitchen supplier. The kitchen stores need their little profit share so it makes sense checking somewhere else as well. “Shop around” before deciding.

Hope you are enjoying your weekend!
Hugs P

Pics borrowed fr; Ballingslöv.se, Vardagsglädje.se, Pinterest.com, Insta;Whitelivingetc, Åraslövkök, Skönahem.se, Husligheter.se, Elle.dk

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Deciding on countertop

  1. I’m a huge fan of the silestone as well. All of these look so nice and lovely. I’d never heard of limestone til you mentioned it. I can imagine it’s hard to keep stain free, though it is a beautiful choice. You’ve given me lots to think about. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Just wish Silestone was less expensive. At least in Sweden its very expensive! I realised there is Granite as well, which is more affordable and can take almost all kinds of wear n tear…but I am not totally sold on it anymore…. Boring when there is a budget you have to stick to 😉 – wish I could go all in on silestone ….. Have a wonderful week and thanks for checking in!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

